Allan Candy can’t ignore us all!

Thank you to everyone who is helping by putting up my posters. I’m seeing them everywhere and they just make me so happy. How can Allan Candy ignore me now? And if you have put one up, take a photo of it and put it on the Dessert Bites facebook. Show them I’m not alone out here. We’ll get justice one way or another I know it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Allan Candy can’t ignore us all!

  1. June Kowalczyk says:

    Helen
    In everything I have read about your dilemma, no where do you state “HOW” Allan Candy procured your recipes?
    Did you publish a book of recipes?? Did you own a bakery?
    I certainly have no trouble boycotting something if I have all the facts. “Taste” alone is not factual. Recipes can be tweaked & reproduced. Oreo cookies have been “copied” by many, many manufacturers by changing the ingredients slightly as to not be 100% identical. Have you never unwittingly used a recipe for a gathering, an event that was not your own, but you took credit? One perhaps you copied from a magazine or newspaper? I dare say, we have ALL done that.

    • Melissa says:

      That is the exact same question I was going to ask. It may taste like your recipe, but who’s to say it is? Did you copyright your recipe? DO you put “GLUCOSE SYRUP, MODIFIED TAPIOCA STARCH, COCONUT OIL, CITRIC ACID, SORBIC ACID, SHELLAC ” in your recipe? Those are some ingredients in the Dessert Bites products. Plus, it’s been put into candy form, right? Did you ever do this yourself? i usually root for the little person in a case like this, but I really don’t see this going your way, I’m sorry. If you have some kind of proof that they used your recipes other than “they taste the same” you may have more luck getting people on your side, but to be perfectly honest, you just sound crazy to me right now.

    • June,

      You know, I once went to school with a girl named June. She was the sweetest thing, and so kind. To answer your question, I believe Allan Candy took my recipes from newspaper articles I was featured in. All the big papers published many articles about me and my recipes, especially after I started winning blue ribbons for my four signature desserts, homemade apple pie, strawberry shortcake, key lime pie, and my personal favorite, raspberry chocolate cheesecake. Notice how they’re the flavours of Dessert Bites? And I’ve tasted them, too. They’re exactly the same. I just can’t let Allan Candy won’t get away with this! I hope you’ll spread my message. I need all the help I can get.

      Helen

  2. Jacuzzi says:

    Helen: I’ve read all your posts – good for you for tackling this! I have one question though – how did they get your recipes in the first place? You should your scrap book of clippings – did they get the recipes from old papers? What’s the deal?

    • Jacuzzi,

      I’m not sure where exactly they got my recipes from, because I have been featured in many newspapers, but I do know they’re mine! When I was younger, my recipes were written up in all the papers. My strawberry shortcake, apple pie, key lime pie, and my favorite, raspberry chocolate cheesecake. My most famous four recipes were the subject of many articles, and, lo and behold, those are the four flavours of Dessert Bites! A coincidence? I think not. I’m not sure why a company would steal from an old lady like me, but there doesn’t seem to be any other explanation.

      Helen

  3. Liz says:

    Helen, I have read and watched your posts and don’t understand HOW they stole from you. I think you should let people know HOW they got your recipes.

  4. Kyra says:

    Hi Helen,
    Just wanted to say I support you all the way. I hate it when bigger people pick on the little guy. Don’t let them walk all over you, you got support from me and your camera man XD. Good luck! Smack ’em with your purse if you have to, maybe. Fill it with their own candies, then smack ’em. Sounds like a better plan to me.

Leave a Reply

